Theme: I am now thinking of creating a circus plot/collage poster. I will include a circus tent and many circus characters. I hope to recreate a circus day in the early 1900’s,  the way it would look if you were looking at it from up above. If that doesn’t seem to work, I will make a collague with lots of trimmed up circus themed images. Whatever the theme of my project ends up being, the over all poster will most likely be black and white since some images are already black and white and others are colored, to have an even toned poster.

Descriptions:I started off with the banner found at the top of the poster. I created the simple design with the arch tool in photoshop then used  the pen tool to trace its paths and gave it a background color.  I then choose the circus looking font — Roosewood Std,  which was already installed in my computer, and warped it to flow with the banners bottom arch. I saved that as a png file and opened it in illustrator. Once it was in illustrator I used the rectangle tool with a gradient as a color and and applied it vertically as the background. I then focused on cropping up my most complicated images in photoshop with the pen tool and saved them as individual png files per traced character, and inserted the images into my illustrator file as I did each one. I ended up having trouble with some of the traced png files towards the end, because once I saved them though phototshop and transferred them to my illustrator poster file, the trimmed images started coming along with a white squared background. After having this same trouble with about 3 pictures I decided to call it a day.

Below are a few of the pictures I have already trimmed up and saved as png files and what I have as part of my poster so far.

Leave a Reply

